James McPherson's Media & Politics Blog

Observations of a patriotic progressive historian, media critic & former journalist


  • By the author of The Conservative Resurgence and the Press: The Media’s Role in the Rise of the Right and of Journalism at the End of the American Century, 1965-Present. A former journalist with a Ph.D. in journalism, history and political science, McPherson is a past president of the American Journalism Historians Association, a board member for the Northwest Alliance for Responsible Media, and a professor of communication studies at Whitworth University.

  • Archives

  • September 2008
    S M T W T F S
    « Aug   Oct »
     123456
    78910111213
    14151617181920
    21222324252627
    282930  
  • Categories

  • Subscribe

Beauty, depravity, religion & politics

Posted by James McPherson on September 9, 2008

A short post today to note that I was excited to see that one of my favorite religious blogs, Eugene Cho’s “beauty and depravity,” today linked to and reprinted my Aug. 19 post titled, “Favoring a Christian president–or not.

Cho is the founder and lead pastor for Seattle’s multicultural Quest Church. He has been featured in the Seattle Times, the Seattle Post-Intelligencer, and Outreach magazine. He operates a nonprofit neighborhood cafe and is active in the fight against poverty both locally and globally. He has also been called “one angry Asian” and writes that he blogs in part to “reveal that pastors or Christians aren’t stupid religious people that don’t have the ability to engage in humor, critical thought, or have ‘regular’ lives. I’m a Christian and a follower of Jesus but I ain’t perfect, saintly, or perfectly holy. I fart just like you and sometimes, they’re bad. Really bad.” [bold type in original]

In short, though we’ve never met and I’m a middle-aged white guy, Cho seems like my kind of Christian, and I’m pleased that he found my piece worth citing. Check out his site.

Note: Two days after I wrote my August post, Pew released results of a survey showing that most Americans seem to agree with me.

2 Responses to “Beauty, depravity, religion & politics”

  1. Feel free to erase this comment after you read it – I believe your post was titled “Favoring a Christian President – or not,” as opposed to “Electing ” ” …”

  2. James McPherson said

    Thanks, Grady. You’re right of course. I’ll correct it in the post, but leave these comments to show that I don’t mind being corrected. We all make mistakes, especially when we write in a hurry. And thanks for your comment on the other post, too.

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 69 other followers

