James McPherson's Media & Politics Blog

Observations of a patriotic progressive historian, media critic & former journalist


  • By the author of The Conservative Resurgence and the Press: The Media’s Role in the Rise of the Right and of Journalism at the End of the American Century, 1965-Present. A former journalist with a Ph.D. in journalism, history and political science, McPherson is a past president of the American Journalism Historians Association, a board member for the Northwest Alliance for Responsible Media, and a professor of communication studies at Whitworth University.

  • Archives

  • February 2010
    S M T W T F S
    « Jan   Mar »
     123456
    78910111213
    14151617181920
    21222324252627
    28  
  • Categories

  • Subscribe

Howard Zinn and other dead warriors

Posted by James McPherson on February 1, 2010

A late mention, as I’ve been away: noted historian Howard Zinn died last week.

In honor of Zinn, I offer his speech on American’s “three holy wars”:

Feb. 8 update: I just came across an NPR bit from a few days ago discussing how the network was criticized for including a nasty quote from David Horowitz as part of its online obit of Zinn. I agree with some of the criticism–that Horowitz’s comments didn’t add anything particularly meaning ful, especially for NPR listeners (thought they did help further illustrate the stupidity of Horowitz)–but can’t help but think that Zinn might have appreciated the “alternative view” of his own history.

5 Responses to “Howard Zinn and other dead warriors”

  1. Jeremy said

    Hi James,
    Good to see you back a-bloggin’! The last I heard you were retiring from here for awhile, so I haven’t checked this site in months. I’ll be sure to keep up with you now. Keep up the good work.
    Best,
    Jeremy

  2. James McPherson said

    Thanks, Jeremy. Yeah, I had taken some time off, and now post much less frequently, but am glad to have you here anytime. I’m glad to see you’ve been continuing your good work over on your site.

  3. Jeremy said

    Thanks! Yeah I don’t post as much as I would like myself. I make a conscious effort to post something at least once a day but sometimes don’t make it. It’s tough having a “real” job writing and then trying to make time for “other” writing. I know that’s something to which you can relate.

  4. James McPherson said

    And it makes it even more difficult to get motivated if you think too much about how many readers we get this way, compared to your “real job,” for example. But I found myself getting a bit obsessive about this, giving me less time for other things I wanted to do. And that my wife wanted me to do. 🙂

  5. Jeremy said

    Yeah, I know what you mean. I’ve found it’s eaten into my column writing time as well because I used to write them for the paper fairly frequently. But now, almost all my original thoughts for any potential columns just get spewed onto the blog because it’s easier and faster. And I can’t create links in newsprint. 😉

Leave a Reply

 
