James McPherson's Media & Politics Blog

Observations of a patriotic progressive historian, media critic & former journalist


  • By the author of The Conservative Resurgence and the Press: The Media’s Role in the Rise of the Right and of Journalism at the End of the American Century, 1965-Present. A former journalist with a Ph.D. in journalism, history and political science, McPherson is a past president of the American Journalism Historians Association, a board member for the Northwest Alliance for Responsible Media, and a professor of communication studies at Whitworth University.

  • Archives

  • February 2010
    S M T W T F S
    « Jan   Mar »
     123456
    78910111213
    14151617181920
    21222324252627
    28  
  • Categories

  • Subscribe

McCain in trouble? We can only hope

Posted by James McPherson on February 16, 2010

Even John McCain’s daughter and wife won’t speak on his behalf.

John McCain may be in danger of losing his seat. He still has Sarah, at least for now–though I’m not sure that’s a good thing and even he has to know she may not hang around if some shiny object distracts her–but Joe the Dumber now is opposing McCain and even his wife and daughter have publicly disagreed with him in recent weeks.

At least if McCain loses he can’t blame anyone other than himself. His conservative challenger, former radio host J.D. Hayworth, is at least partially right in noting, “”You could say they are two John McCains. The one who campaigns like a conservative and the one who legislates like a liberal.”

I’d break it down slightly differently, into the usually sane McCain of before the most recent presidential election campaign and the crazy old man who appeared during the campaign and never went away. We now can no longer be sure how McCain feels about his own ideas for campaign reform. We don’t know whether he’s for immigration reform or against it.

Sadly, considering his legacy, we can’t even be sure whether McCain is for trusting the military or not, or how he feels about torture.

Frankly, I don’t think Arizonans will give McCain the boot. I will somewhat miss him if they do, just because of my history with him, but I don’t think he’ll lose. But I wish he’d have the integrity to quit, before he embarrasses himself further.

2 Responses to “McCain in trouble? We can only hope”

  1. I was for his opinion on gays in the military (ask the Generals)
    I was for his opinion on campaign finance
    I LOVED his idea on immigration reform (let them all stay, but pay a $5000 fine? Hell yeah!)
    I was for his idea of 40 nuclear power plants
    I was for his idea that experience and character matters

    Now,
    He and I disagree on gays serving openly (I’m still with the generals, it’s their call)
    I’m still for campaign finance reform
    I’m still waiting for my illegal immigrant co-workers to be made legal and start paying taxes
    I’m still hoping America can build a really awesome internal power base.
    I’m still wondering how he thought Sarah Palin was qualified or competent.

    😦 I want the old McCain back. This post-election version? Nope.

  2. […] In a 63-33 procedural vote, the U.S. Senate has effectively killed the ridiculous Clinton-era law regarding homosexual service in the military. The vote gives President Barack Obama his second big win in a week–and produces another high-profile loss for the increasingly irrelevant John McCain. […]

Leave a Reply

 
